Monday, April 25, 2011

Abandon (book) by Meg Cabot

My post is based on an ARC I picked up from the publisher while at a library conference. This book doesn't come out until tomorrow, so I have actually made an effort not to include any big spoilers. I hope I succeeded - the structure of the first half of the book made it a little hard.

Synopsis:

When she was 15, Pierce died. She was resuscitated, but the experience changed the course of her life. Her parents got divorced, her mother blaming her father for her death. Everyone at school started thinking she was a little crazy, including her best friend. Pierce drifted away from everyone, emotionally, until finally a series of terrible events two years after her death led to her school suggesting that she might be better off somewhere else. Her mother packed her up and took her to the island where she grew up, Isla Huesos.

What no one realizes is that Pierce isn't really crazy, and that she saw a whole lot more when she died than just a light at the end of the tunnel. When she died, she went to the Underworld and met John, a death god who was going to keep her by his side for eternity. After she escaped the Underworld, Pierce might have been able to convince herself that her experiences had all just been a hallucination, except she still had the enormous diamond, meant to warn whenever evil was present, that John gave her. And also, whenever she was in danger, John showed up and did things that resulted in people either getting hurt or dying.

Pierce doesn't want anyone she loves to ever get hurt again, but trouble seems to follow her wherever she goes. She has to somehow sort things out with John, but her situation is much more dangerous than she realizes.

Commentary:

This is the first book of what is going to be a trilogy. Since I knew nothing about this book before I started reading it, I didn't realize this and, for some reason, thought it was a standalone novel. I expected an actual ending and was disappointed when I didn't really get one. So, now you're forewarned.

It always seems to take me a while to warm up to one of Meg Cabot's books, and this one was no exception. I spent the first half of this book annoyed with the enormous amount of foreshadowing. Pierce goes on and on about her death and the terrible things that happened after her death, and it just got to the point where I wanted her to finally, finally stop being vague and just say what happened. I actually found myself thinking, "I know dying must have been tough and all, but just get over it and get on with the story."

There are so many flashbacks and references to past events that it's easy to forget that the story has an actual present that is a whole two years after Pierce's death. Nearly the entire first half of the book deals with Pierce's past, and it wasn't until after all that, during a scene in which Pierce is at an assembly at her new school, that the book really grabbed my interest. Like Pierce, I wanted to know what the big deal was with Coffin Night. I wanted to know what was going on at her school, what various people were hiding from her, and how things worked at her school in general.

Notice how I haven't said anything about wanting to know more about her and John? Usually, I automatically glom onto the slightest hint of romance in a book, but something about Pierce and John's relationship didn't grab me that way. Now, that's not to say I was completely uninterested in the romantic aspects of this book or in John as the love interest. It's just that, considering how excited I was when I read that the book was based on the myth of Persephone and Hades, I was surprised that the romance didn't resonate with me more.

I've liked a lot of dark, broody, suffering heroes in the past. Some that come to mind are Thierry in L.J. Smith's Soulmate, the Beast in the Beauty and the Beast story (and just about anything based on the story), and Eiri Yuki in Maki Murakami's Gravitation. These kinds of romantic heroes can have a scary, possibly almost insane edge to them at times, but there's usually also something about them, something about the way they interact with the "heroine" (oh, poor Shuichi - sorry, I couldn't think of a better word) that makes a romantic relationship seem like a viable option. Although John and Pierce definitely had their moments, I didn't really feel the romance for a large portion of the book. That changed a bit near the end of the book, but I wanted the romance to be stronger throughout the entire book, not just near the end of it.

Part of the problem, I think, was that so much of the focus of the book was on Pierce that it was hard to see John as more than just the scary, violent surface he presented. There were hints that John was lonely, he had a super protective streak (which really only added to his scariness), and Cabot gave readers a bit of his history maybe two thirds of the way into the book, but none of it was enough, not for me at least. Pierce's reaction to John didn't manage to drum up any anticipation in me, either - although it was clear that part of her was attracted to him, even though she seemed unwilling to recognize it, the larger part of her was just worried about what he might end up doing to those around her, whether they deserved it on some level or not.

Even if I had decided to just accept that John was the romantic hero of the book and was worth falling for, I had one other hurdle: I couldn't quite believe that John would fall for Pierce. Supposedly, he falls for her because, of all the people he's ever met, she's completely selfless. She thinks about others before herself. At the point in the book where this first came up, I couldn't really believe it, because Pierce didn't seem so much selfless to me as she seemed completely clueless that the things that could hurt and bring discomfort to others could also do the same to her.

I did eventually come to accept the reason given for why John fell for Pierce, and Pierce did grow on me. This book had some things that appealed to me and hints of things that I could come to like better later on, enough so that I do want to read the next book in the trilogy but...I can't shake the feeling that this book could have been much better than it was.

Read-alikes:
  • Twilight (book) by Stephenie Meyer - If you like broody, angry, protective, and possibly dangerous romantic heroes, this book might be right up your alley. True, this one has vampires instead of a death god, but the paranormal aspect is still there.
  • The Forbidden Game trilogy (books) by L.J. Smith - It's been ages since I read this, but I remember it being another good one for those who like broody, dangerous heroes that you're not quite sure would actually be good for the heroine but that you kind of cheer for anyway.
  • The Darkangel (book) by Meredith Ann Pierce - Another one I haven't read in ages. I remember it being a dark romance (with a vampire, I believe), and I remember really enjoying it. It's the first book in a trilogy.
  • Evermore (book) by Alyson Noel - Another book in which death plays a big role - in this case, the main character, Ever, is the sole survivor of a car crash that kills her parents and younger sister. Although she was a popular girl prior to the accident, she isolates herself after it, because she has gained new abilities that make it hard to be around others. Then a gorgeous new student arrives, someone Ever feels drawn to and who seems to be able to temporarily block Ever's powers.

5 comments:

  1. From an interview in the April 24 Fort Worth Star-Telegram:

    "All kids are required to read the myths in school," Cabot says, "and the one that always captured my imagination was the myth of Persephone. I think it's because that was the only one with a female character that doesn't get turned into a tree or a cow or a stream or whatever.

    Persephone becomes the queen of the underworld, and that was very appealing to me as a girl who felt like an outsider and hated pep rallies and wore black and all that. I used to think, 'Wouldn't it be great if the lord of the underworld would just come and take me away from this awful place?'"

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hi! I came over from The Figment Review. I am so relived to see that someone else felt the same way about ABANDON. I don't need a book chock-full of action, but for so much of this novel, we seemed to be going nowhere, aimlessly and pointlessly. And we were actually learning very little along the way. My heartline remained even and neutral from beginning to end - I was fascinated by the world and who John was, but I wasn't emotionally gripped by the characters' stories.

    There were some things I liked about it, so I'll probably pick up the next book in hopes that it gets off the ground, instead of just laying out the foundation for the series in this book.

    ReplyDelete
  3. @Linna - That's basically how I felt. I know that the first book of a series or trilogy needs to take some time to lay down some foundations, but this one spent more time than it should have on that. I have a feeling that later books will be much more enjoyable, so I'll have to hope that I still remember this series by the time the next book comes out.

    ReplyDelete
  4. @Amanda - I really liked the Persephone and Hades myth, too - it's the mythological version of the "bad boy" who ends up going all mushy over the "good girl." Of course, Hades goes about things rather badly, skipping the whole courtship step and going straight to kidnapping, but I still loved (and love) the story.

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...